New Jersey Ticket Fines and Penalties

Getting a traffic ticket is not only a burden on your driving record - it can also end up cost you a lot of money in the short and long term. Each traffic violation in the state carries with it a designated amount of points and a fine that you will have to pay. In addition to these fines, there are sometimes extra surcharges that you will be assessed, depending upon the frequency or severity of your violation. Here are the most common New Jersey traffic ticket fines and penalties that you should watch out for while on the roads.

The New Jersey Point System

In order to accurately assess your driving abilities, the MVC has put in place a point system for its traffic violations. Each New Jersey traffic violation carries a designated amount of points, and the total amount of points on your driving record tells the MVC how safe (or unsafe) you are on the road. Similarly, each of these violations has a designated fine that you will be required to pay, or else you risk even more violations and possible jail time for failure to comply.

For instance, if you are convicted of "unsafe driving," which is defined as any driving behaviors that endanger a person or property, you will be required to pay a fine of $50-$150 on your first conviction, $100-$250 on your second, and $200-500 if you are convicted a third time. You will also be required to pay an additional $250 surcharge for each conviction.

Most New Jersey traffic ticket fines are determined by the county or court in which you were convicted. So someone speeding in Trenton may end up paying a different fine than someone speeding in Newark.

What Are Surcharges?

In addition to the original fine that you may be charged for your traffic ticket, you could be charged extra fees if your traffic violation is severe, or if you accumulate too many of them within a certain period of time. Some of these surcharges are one-time fees, while others require annual payments for a set number of years.

For instance, if you accrue 6 or more points on your driving record within 3 years, you face an annual surcharge of $150, plus a fee of $25 for each additional point you have over 6. This points surcharge needs to be paid for a total of 3 years... which means you're looking at an additional cost of $450 on top of your original ticket costs, plus any extra money paid out for additional points above 6 (if you have any). On the other hand, the first example of "unsafe driving" carries a single surcharge of $250 to be paid just once.

More Severe Penalties

For serious violations, such as aggressive driving or breaking New Jersey DUI laws, the fines and penalties are clearly defined. Here's what you can expect if you really find yourself on the wrong side of the law.

  • Reckless driving
    • Fine: $50 - 200
    • Jail time: up to 60 days
  • Carrying alcoholic beverages
    • Fine: First offense - $200; second offense - $250 or 10 days of community service
  • Hit-and-run
    • Fine: $2500-$5000
    • Jail time: 180 days
    • Loss of license for 1 year
    • Subsequent offenses = permanent loss of license
  • Driving on a suspended license
    • Fines: first offense - $500; second offense - $750; third offense - $1000
    • Additional 6 months of license suspension

New Jersey License Suspension

If you do not amend your ways, you will risk the suspension of your driving privileges. The accrual of 12 total points on your driving record results in an automatic license suspension, and you will need to go through the restoration process to get it back. In addition, you will likely have to complete a defensive driving or traffic school course in order to complete requirements for your court.

You can avoid this, however, by driving safely for one year, or by completing a New Jersey Point and Insurance Reduction course. Either of these methods will remove 2 points from your driving record, keeping you away from the suspension threshold. Be mindful, however, that you may only complete a Point and Insurance Reduction course once every 5 years.


© All rights reserved.


Our online courses are taken entirely on your schedule. When you study is your choice. Log in and out whenever you like and the course simply picks up where you last left off. Your student control panel and course table of contents will display your progress through the program as you go.



We use interactive flash animation throughout the course to get you actively involved! There are images on every page and movies thoughout the course to entertain as well as educate.



The course consists of 12 easy to follow chapters that have a multiple choice quiz at the end before moving on to the next chapter. We take you step by step all the way from registration to graduation. It's that easy!



Our courses are the most competitive prices online - guaranteed. In some states we even offer the lowest price allowed by law!


Available Nationwide

We are proud to offer quality driver improvement courses for drivers across the United States. Select a state to find out if we have a course available for your needs.


State & Court Approved

Our courses have been approved in several states and juristictions accross the country, whether the course is your election or court-ordered. Select a state for specific details.


Fast & Easy Sign-up

Our registration process is quick and straight-forward, so you can be on your way! Depending on the specific course selected, simply have your license and court information ready.


Easy to Follow Format

We make taking an online Defensive Driving / Traffic School class a breeze. The course chapters guide you through the program, covering a range of topics like driving behaviors, traffic laws, safety equipment and defensive driving strategies. Your student control panel displays your progress and keeps everything you need at your fingertips.


Log-on and off Whenever You Want

Our system keeps track of your progress through the course and allows you to resume the course right where you left off when you sign back in! This allows you to complete the course on your schedule.


Self-Paced and Stress-Free

You certainly don't have to take the course all at once! Our courses are done on your schedule at your own pace over several chapters to make studying simple. Pages are timed so you meet the state-specific requirements, but you can take as long as you want as you go.


Free Processing & Delivery

Unlike many other schools who lure you in with cheap prices only to charge you high processing fees, our regular processing and basic mail delivery options are FREE. Upgrades are always available if you need your certificate sooner.


Overnight Service Available

A USPS/FedEx Overnight Delivery upgrade is available if you need your certificate right away. We also offer 2nd or 3rd day delivery with tracking upgrades for your piece of mind.


24/7 Customer Support

Our support staff is always available for you around the clock. We're here whenever you need us.


State Licensed is fully licensed and bonded to offer you the best in Online Education. Our programs are state certifed and recognized as an industry leader.


Your Privacy

We value and respect your privacy. We don't sell or share your sensitive personal information with anyone other than the state agencies we report your completion to in order to credit your graduation.



Our payment transactions are encrypted and securely processed through Authorize.Net, a leader in PCI compliant online credit card processing and fraud prevention.


Rush Processing

Are you in a hurry? We specialize in fast processing! We understand the need for last minute completions and guarantee to get your certificate to you ASAP!


Fast Delivery

We use both USPS and FedEx Express Mail services for overnight delivery. Depending on your state's requirements, we may even be able to email your certificate to you when you graduate!